Divination is sometimes called fortune telling although many who work with divination actually work more with where you are now and the likely outcomes of your current actions or those suggested by the reading.There are many types of divination and most have been used for many, many years.  The following is a brief outline of some the types of divination.The key element with all forms of divination is that whatever is used is a tool to enable the reader to ‘tap into’ that person and the higher consciousness. Following the principle that ‘in spirit there is no time’ it is possible to link into the pool of energy that surrounds all our actions.

You do, of course, have to remember that no-one is an island and although your likely course and the direction you choose to take may be clear insofar as the actions you must take there will inevitably be others involved who also have a part in your progress. A simple way to think about this is say you want to change your job you cannot move into your perfect job until the person who is currently in that job moves/the job is created and they cannot move until their right space is available and so on.  You can see, therefore, that your life is always impacted by others many of whom you will never know!


Tarot cards normally comprise a set of 78 cards divided into two sets; the major and the minor arcana.   The major arcana consist of 22 cards as follows –

0 The Fool

1 The Magician

2 The High Priestess

3 The Empress

4 The Emperor

5 The Hierophant/Pope

6 The Lovers

7 The Chariot

8 Strength

9 The Hermit

10 The Wheel of Fortune

11 Justice

12 Hanged Man

13 Death

14 Temperance

15 The Devil

16 The Tower

17 The Star

18 The Moon

19 The Sun

20 Judgement

21 The World

The Minor Arcana are comprised of four suits –

Pentacles also known as coins or deniers

Wands also known as rods or staves

 Each of the suits are number 1 (ace) through to 10 and then the Court cards of Page, Knight, Queen and King. The Court cards are also described in different ways in some decks too such as prince, princess etc.

This is the general format and individual deck have variations specific to them.  Certain decks such as the Rider Waite and the Hanson Roberts are considered to be ‘basic’ sets in that they contain all the meanings of the cards within the pictures and have no other additional stories running through them.  This type of set is good for a beginner to start to learn the card meanings.

 Each card has a specific set of meanings that are interpreted within a reading taking all the cards into account. However, your higher guidance/intuition is key here and if you feel that it has a different meaning in context go with that provided it is your intuitive response and not your logical on based on other information you already have about the person or situation.

There are hundreds if not thousands of tarot decks and there will be the one for you in there somewhere!  Best guidance is to go for the deck that you feel drawn towards.  Those that have additional stories such as the Mythical (Greek myths), Lord of the Rings, Arthurian can be more complex to work with for beginners as they have the traditional tarot meanings and the additional ‘story’ to combine in the reading.  You will also find that there are some differences in the decks in the order that the cards appear; a few also have additional cards.

The cards can be read in a variety of ways such as drawing one a day for guidance, a three card spread for past, present and future in a
particular situation.  However, generally in order to obtain a more detailed answer the cards are laid out in what is called a spread or layout.  Again there are many different spreads that can be used either for general or more specific issues.  One of the most common is the Celtic Cross consisting of 10 cards.


Position 1  –   Yourself, where you are at the moment

Position 2  –   The Crossing card or what is in your way for better or worse

Position 3  –   What is above you or most on your mind at this time

Position 4  –   What is at the bottom of things, underpinning the situation or your mindset

Position 5  –   The immediate past

Position 6  –   The near future

Position 7  –   How you see things, your input to the situation

Position 8  –   How others see the situation and environmental effects

Position 9  –   Your hopes and fears

Position 10 – The outcome

This interpretation is one of the common versions but again you will that other commentators do give different meanings to the positions.  The key is to find the version that you are comfortable with and work with that.  There are no right or wrong versions simply the best ones for you.

When reading a spread the position of the card and the surrounding cards also has a bearing on the meaning of each card and this is the part thattakes the time to learn and be comfortable with.  Beginning you may only work with upright cards for simplicity but full readings include upright and reversed cards.  The reversed position is normally the opposite of the upright position.  It is not necessarily negative but could indicate say that whilst the outcome will be possible it will be delayed.


Playing cards have been read possibly even longer than Tarot cards and they can be viewed like the Minor Arcana of the Tarot.  The four suits correspond and can be read in similar fashion using single cards, 3 cards or the more involved layouts/spreads.